Blog Over Bird — #2

Alright, folks. I’ve racked my brain for a few more things to say. I’ve almost tweeted half of these, but I’m finding it a lot easier to [write / waffle] on here.

Disposability vs. Maintainability #

I’ve been inspired by Ryan Florence saying such a thing. It’s something that I considered today, even on client work. I think a disposable interface could do wonders, especially when coupled with a stable server API. More experimentation, ‘n all that.

Foxcatcher #

How did this film slip under my radar? I can’t wait to see it. You should check the video clip on IMDB, and be mesmerised by Steve Carrell’s performance. Apparently people at Cannes were loving it.

The Kids Are All Right #

I seem to be on a film-a-night during the week lately. One of the more recent movies was The Kids Are All Right. If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s what you should do: watch it, then watch the trailer afterwards, and see how badly they portray the film. “Don’t judge a film by it’s trailer.”

Burner #

I came across this little gem from Jeff Escalante today. I couldn’t sum it up better myself: “Host a file for one download, then burn it”. It’s apparently “SnapChat for Nerds” at the minute, because you’ll have to cURL your way round the API. But the concept, there’s definitely something in it.

Slack vs. all the others #

We’re quite fond of switching our group messaging apps at Strobe. Over the past few weeks, we’ve been using Slack. I love the characterful interface — it’s a pleasure to look at. But it does make me think: we probably didn’t need to switch. Flowdock did the trick. As did HipChat. Hell, probably Campfire would have been fine, if it wasn’t for its pricing. But, yet, the “fashionable” side of the tech/app industry strikes again.

 
4
Kudos
 
4
Kudos

Now read this

Responding to Responsive Web Design

This article originally appeared on joecritchley.com ‘Responsive Web Design’ has started to shape the way designers and developers create sites and applications. I’ve often heard it mentioned in meetings with clients; explaining it as a... Continue →